Florida – How to Get Your RAP Sheet

The Florida Department of Law Enforcement (FDLE) keeps all criminal records. The FDLE provides two types of criminal records:

  1. Personal Review Criminal Record
  2. Certified Criminal Record

Each type is available to you for different purposes. 

How to Get Your Personal Review Criminal Record:

Florida law allows you to review your criminal record for free. Only you and your attorney can get this record. It is important to check your record for accuracy. If you think something on your record is wrong, you can submit a "records challenge" to the FDLE. They will investigate and correct your record if necessary.

A Personal Review record is not a Certified Criminal record. That means it cannot be used for immigration, employment, licensing, or skills certification.

Here is how to get your free record for personal review:

  1. Go to the FDLE's website at Florida Department of Law Enforcement and click on, "Request a Criminal History."
  2. Click on the blue tab labeled, "Personal Review” under "Additional Information" at the bottom.
  3. Click on the blue link also labeled, "Personal Review." Read this information carefully.
  4. Click on the link for the application form, "Personal Review of Florida Criminal History Record" to complete application.
  5. Get your fingerprints taken at your local law enforcement agency such as your local police department or sheriff's office. Call them first to make an appointment and to find out what the fee is for fingerprinting.
  6. Mail your completed application and your fingerprint card to this address:

    Florida Department of Law Enforcement
    Attn: Criminal History Record Maintenance Section

    Post Office Box 1489
    Tallahassee, FL 32302-1489

You will receive your criminal record from the FDLE, but it may take up to 30 days. The FDLE will also return your fingerprint card.

How to Get Your Certified Criminal Record:

You can apply to the FDLE for a Certified Criminal record either online or by mail. The FDLE will send your record by return mail. Certified Criminal records are usually required for employment, licensing, certification, immigration, and adoptions.

Each search for a record costs $24. You must use a credit card to pay for a Certified Criminal record online. If you don't have a credit card, you need to ask for your record by mail.

Here is how to make a request online for a Certified Criminal record:

  1. Go to the FDLE website: Florida Department of Law Enforcement Criminal History Record Check.
  2. Read the general information and click on the blue tab labeled, "Certified Search."
  3. Click on the blue link labeled, "Certified Florida Criminal History Search." Follow the directions. The accuracy of your results depends on the accuracy of the information you provide. You must pay a $24 fee by credit card for every search.

You will receive your Certified Criminal record by mail in about a week.

Here is how to make a request by mail for a Certified Criminal record: 

  1. Go to the FDLE website: Florida Department of Law Enforcement Criminal History Record Check.
  2. Click on the blue tab labeled, "Search by Mail."
  3. Click on the blue link labeled, "Criminal History Information Request." Complete the form online and print it or fill it out by hand. 
  4. Send the completed form with your payment (check or money order made out to FDLE) to the address on the form.